FFL is the abbreviation for federal firearms license. This is the license issued by the federal government that allows dealers to actively buy and sell firearms.
Yes, we will do a gun transfer with conditions. We want to know what is coming in. We have the right to refuse any transfer. Firearms without liability insurance or firearms deemed unsafe will be refused. Most firearms are OK. If in doubt, please ask us. The shipper will need a copy of our FFL located on the forms page. They will have to include a copy of their FFL with the shipment. If the firearm is coming in from a private citizen, they will have to include a copy of their drivers license. We have to put all firearms into our Federal log books. If we receive a firearm without proper identification of who sent it, it will be turned over to the BATF to be destroyed. It is the shipper's responsibility to be sure all required documentation is included in the shipment.
We have two different transfer fees. $25 or $50.
A firearm from a family member, some gunbroker sales, auction arms or other auction sites on approval is $25.
A firearm from an internet dealer is $50.
A Vermont photo ID is required. This must have your current physical address, your date of birth, physical description etc.. This will allow you to purchase handguns or long guns, providing that you pass a FBI background check.
If you're from another state, you can purchase a long gun with conditions. You need a photo ID as described above, pass a background check and the firearm must be legal in your home state.
If you own a home in Vermont but have an out of state license, we need your property tax bill from Vermont. The bill must state "Home and x acres located at (VT address.) We also need 3 months of utility bills leading up to the date of sale such as electric bill, phone bill, satellite bill, etc. which must have your Vermont address on it. When in doubt, fax us your documents to confirm. Owning just land in Vermont does not make you a resident.
Yes, we just can't transfer it to you. The firearm has to be shipped to a FFL holder in your state. You pay for the firearm here including Vermont sales tax and shipping charges. Once we receive the FFL from your dealer, we ship it to them. You pick it up there abiding all laws where you are picking it up . It is YOUR responsibility to know your state law.
Full time Vermont students are considered "Residents" while they are in school full time. We will need a letter from the registrar's office on letterhead paper indicating student's name and dates of enrollment. All other laws are the same; 21 years old for a handgun, photo ID and a FBI background check. Remember, if you purchased firearms while attending college in Vermont, it does not mean that particular firearm is legal in your home state. It is YOUR responsibility to know your state laws before transporting the firearm home.